RSA Logo

The Retirement Systems of Alabama

Strength. Stability. Security.


TRS/PEEHIP Board of Control

The Teachers' Retirement System and Public Education Employees' Health Insurance Plan Boards of Control are composed of 15 members who are elected or hold office ex officio. The members of the boards are the trustees of the retirement funds and are responsible for the management and administration of the retirement system.

  Board Members by Position Term Expires
Ex Officio, Dr. Eric Mackey, State Superintendent of Education Ex Officio - Dr. Eric Mackey, State Superintendent of Education  
John McMillan Ex Officio - Hon. John McMillan, Jr., State Treasurer  
Ex Officio, Mr. Kelly Butler, Interim State Finance Director Ex Officio - Mr. Kelly Butler, State Finance Director  
Superintendent Position and Chair, Mr. Luke Hallmark Superintendent Position & Chair - Mr. Luke Hallmark 6/30/2020
Teacher Position, No. 2 and Vice Chair, Mr. John R. Whaley Teacher Position, No. 2 & Vice Chair - Mr. John R. Whaley 6/30/2019
Retired Position, No. 1, Ms. Peggy Mobley  

Retired Position, No. 1 - Ms. Peggy Mobley

Retired Position, No. 2, Mr. Joe Ward Retired Position, No. 2 - Mr. Joe Ward 6/30/2020
Principal Position - Mr. Richard "Dickie" Brown 6/30/2021
Postsecondary Position, Dr. Susan Williams Brown Postsecondary Position - Dr. Susan Williams Brown 6/30/2019
Higher Education Position, No. 1, Dr. Joseph G. Van Matre Higher Education Position, No. 1 - Dr. Joseph G. Van Matre 6/30/2019
Higher Education Position, No. 2, Ms. Kelli D. Shomaker Higher Education Position, No. 2 - Ms. Kelli D. Shomaker 6/30/2021
  Teacher Position, No. 1 - vacant 6/30/2019
Teacher Position, No. 3, Ms. Charlene McCoy Teacher Position, No. 3 - Ms. Charlene McCoy 6/30/2021
Support Personnel Position, No. 1, Mrs. Susan Lockridge Support Personnel Position, No. 1 - Mrs. Susan Lockridge 6/30/2019
Support Personnel Position, No. 2, Mr. Russell Twilley Support Personnel Position, No. 2 - Mr. Russell Twilley 6/30/2021


TRS Board of Control Election Information

Election Results

The TRS Election Committee met on December 3 and certified the election results. Ms. Amy C. Crew ran unopposed for the Teacher Position No. 1, Mr. Ricky Whaley was re-elected to the Teacher Position No. 2, Ms. Susan Lockridge was re-elected to the Support Personnel Position No. 1, Dr. Susan Williams Brown was re-elected to the Postsecondary Position, Dr. Joseph G. Van Matre was re-elected to the Higher Education Position No. 1, and Peggy Mobley, was re-elected to the Retired Position No. 1. Elected members will begin their three-year term of service on July 1, 2019. Congratulations to the winners!

Click here for complete election results.

TRS Election Manual

A | a Font Size