RSA Logo

The Retirement Systems of Alabama

Strength. Stability. Security.


ERS/JRF Board of Control

The Employees’ Retirement Board of Control is composed of 13 members who are elected, appointed, or hold office ex officio. The members of the Board are the trustees of the retirement funds and are responsible for the management and administration of the retirement system.

Board Members by Position
Term Expires
Ex Officio & Chair - Hon. Kay Ivey, Governor
Ex Officio - Hon. Young J.Boozer, III, State Treasurer  
Ex Officio - Mr. Clinton Carter, State Finance Director
Ex Officio & Vice Chair- Mrs. Jackie B. Graham, State Personnel Director
Governor Appointee - Mr. Curtis E. Stewart
Governor Appointee - Ms. Ellen Leonard
Governor Appointee - Mr. John D. Free
Retired State Employee Position - Mr. James H. Rowell 9/30/2018
Retired Local Employee Position - Mr. James Fibbe 9/30/2020
Active State Employee Position, No. 1 - Mr. Stephen C. Walkley
Active State Employee Position, No. 2 - Mr. David Bollie
Active Local Employee Position, No. 1 - Mr. Steven W. Williams
Active Local Employee Position, No. 2 - Mr. Ben Powell

ERS Board of Control Election 

The election for the following positions will take place this May: State Employee, No. 1; Local Employee, No. 1; and Retired State Employee. The State and Local Employee positions have a four-year term, while the Retired State Employee position has a three-year term. All terms begin October 1, 2018.

Completed nomination packets were due to the ERS office by 4:00 p.m., April 16, 2018. Please check back soon for election updates. 

ERS Election Manual

A | a Font Size